Foreign Purchaser Surcharges Class Action

A class action has been commenced against the State of Victoria on behalf of persons (natural and corporate) from eight countries (Finland, Germany, India, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, South Africa and Switzerland) who have purchased property in Victoria and have made payment to the State of Victoria on or after 1 July 2015, of:

  1. Foreign Purchaser Additional Duty, and/or
  2. (Foreign) Absentee Owner Land Tax Surcharge.

(the Surcharge Payments)

The class action seeks restitution from the State of Victoria of all Surcharge Payments received over the claim period, as well as interest and costs, on the basis that the Surcharge Payments were charged pursuant to laws which were inconsistent with certain international tax treaties between Australia and the eight countries.

The class action is being conducted by Johnson Winter Slattery Lawyers, with funding provided by CASL.

Further information on the claim and how to participate can be found here.